A year after FC Barcelona had all three players on the Ballon d'Or podium, the club has once again dominated the shortlist for the 2011 edition issued by FIFA and the magazine France Football. Leo Messi (winner of the last two editions) is joined by Andrés Iniesta, Xavi Hernández, Éric Abidal, Dani Alves, Cesc Fàbregas, Gerard Piqué and David Villa.

The other candidates are Agüero (Manchester City); Benzema, Casillas, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ozil and Xabi Alonso (Madrid); Eto'o (Anzhi); Forlán and Sneijder (Inter); Müller and Schweinsteiger (Bayern); Nani and Rooney (Manchester Utd); Neymar (Santos) and Luis Suárez (Liverpool).

Guardiola up for top coach

Like last year, when he was a finalist, Pep Guardiola is one of the nominees for the FIFA Men's Football Coach of the Year 2011 along with Del Bosque (Spain), Ferguson (Manchester Utd), Rudi Garcia (Lille), Klopp (Borussia Dortmund), Low (Germany), Mourinho (Madrid) Tabárez (Uruguay), Villas-Boas (Chelsea) and Wenger (Arsenal).

Announcement January 19

Now that the candidates are known, the national captains and managers and representatives of the world's press chosen by France Football will be voting for the winners. The awards will be presented on January 9, 2012 at a gala in Zurich. On December 5, FIFA and France Football will announce the three finalists in each of the categories.

Back to top