Borregán in the match against Coinasa Liceo / PHOTO: ÀLEX CAPARRÓS

Barça beat HC Coinasa Liceo, the European champions, this afternoon in the last match of the season at the Palau Blaugrana. Even though Barça had already won the Liga title, this afternoon’s game still had a special air about it. In fact, this was Beto Borregán’s last home match of his 18-year career.

Intense match

The beginning of the match was marked by intensity. Aitor Egurrola had a magnificent game as he denied Liceo’s goal-scoring chances on multiple occasions. Even though Liceo were the team pressing to score the first goal, it was Barça that netted the opener. On 11 minutes, after a good pass from Borregán, Álvarez was quick to beat the visiting side’s keeper.

Liceo equalised on 15 minutes thanks to a goal from Pablo Añon. But minutes later, Borregán made it 2-1. The goal was scored after a good collective play that started with a pass from Torra for the Barça captain. The teams went to the break with the 2-1 on the scoreboard.

Excitement until the end

30 seconds hadn’t gone by in the second half before Barça netted the third through Pablo Álvarez. The Azulgranas controlled the game but Liceo weren’t about the business of allowing themselves to lose, especially in Barcelona. On 32 minutes, Eduard Lamas pulled one back for Liceo, and with 12 minutes to go before the end of the match, Toni Pérez brought his team level.

The Barça players wanted to dedicate the match to their retiring captain and they fought to take the win. After a couple of shots crashed against the woodwork, Barça scored the fourth an decisive goal through Panadero, who celebrated his goal with Borregán (who was on the bench).

It was a party at the Palau Blaugrana - a party in honour of Beto Borregán and for the champions of the Liga. Barça were awarded the trophy after the match.


FC Barcelona, 4
HP Liceo Coinasa,3

FC Barcelona: Egurrola, Ordeig, Torra, Panadero, Pablo Álvarez –starting five -, Gual, Borregán, Reinaldo García.

HC Coinasa Liceo: Malián, Lamas, Bargalló, Toni Pérez, Barreiros –starting five – Miras, Añón.

Goals: 1-0, Pablo Álvarez, min 11; 1-1, Añón, min 15; 2-1, Borregán, min 15; 3-1, Pablo Álvarez, min 26; 3-2, Lamas, min 32; 3-3, Toni Pérez, min 38, and 4-3, Panadero, min 45.

Referees: Sanz Rodríguez and Delfa Crespo.

Attendance: 2.282 supporters at the Palau Blaugrana.

Back to top