Egurolla and Ricard Muñoz return to Barcelona with the European League trophy / VÍCTOR SALGADO-FCB

Barça won the European League for an amazing 21st time and the second in a row. And they did it in emphatic style. After drawing their first match they went on to win the next nine.

Impeccable group

Barça started with a 1-1 draw at home to Benfica, but that was just a blip as they responded by beating Quévert 7-0 in France and Bassano 6-3 in Italy, the same result they got in Barcelona. They then went to Lisbon to win 3-1 and finally secured top spot by drubbing Quévert 9-2.

Powering through quarters

The first knockout opponent was Italy’s Valdagno, and Barça set things up nicely for the second leg with an impressive 6-2 win away. In Barcelona, they consolidated that lead with an 8-5 win to ensure passage into the Final Four, being played in Bassano but hosted by Hockey Breganze.

Barça triumph

The tournament was played in early May, and Vic beat Porto in the first game, while Barça’s challenge was to defeat the hosts, which they did, 5-1. In an all-Catalan final, Barça stormed into a 4-1 lead, but Vic got things back to 4-3 to set up a thrilling finale. Barça held on and won the title in the same venue, the PalaSind in Bassano, where they had won in 2007, and all in front of a crowd of 3,000 spectators.