FC Barcelona Lassa started its mini-journey away from the Palau on a good footing. The first of four games to be played in nine days ended with a win against Bidasoa Irun (25-34), in what was a difficult match. In spite of the final result, the blaugranes 131st consecutive Asobal League victory wasn’t assured until well into the second half.

Home goalkeeper Xoan Ledo was kept busy from the first whistle and saved seven certain goals in the first seven minutes of play, no doubt contributing to his overall statistic of stopping 47% of Barça Lassa’s attempts. Xavi Pascual’s team continued to attack and were eventually able to take advantage, leading by 12-19 in the 36th minute.

From that point, and with more peace of mind, Barça could be forgiven for occasionally toying with their opponent. Yanis Lenne ensured a 10-point gap with 45 on the clock and Syprzak, the top scorer with seven goals, rounded off proceedings. Barça therefore continue as the unbeaten leader with maximum points (20) and wins (10).


Bidasoa Irun, 25
FC Barcelona Lassa, 34

Bidasoa Irun:
Xoan Ledo (Asier Zubiria); Jon Imanol Vázquez (1), Eduard Nonó (3), Odriozola (7), Ivan Popovic, Mikel Redondo, Borja Lancina (5) –starters- Adrián Crowley, Iago Muiña, Leo Renaud-David (5), Rodrigo Salinas (2), Iñaki Cavero, Iker Serrano (2).

Barça: Ristovski (Gonzalo Pérez de Vargas); Sorhaindo (2), Ariño (3), N'Guessan (-), Dika Mem (3), Pálmarsson (3), Aleix Gómez (-) –starters- Víctor Tomàs (2), Valero Rivera (3), Alexis Borges (1), Viran Morros (2), Yanis Lenne (1), Jallouz (4), Entrerríos (3), Syprzak (7).

Breakdown: 2-1, 3-3, 5-7, 6-7, 6-10, 11-12 (break), 12-17, 13-20, 14-21, 15-24, 18-27, 23-32, 25-34 (final).

Officials: Yon Bustamante López and Javier Álvarez Mata.

Back to top