Pérez de Vargas towards the end of last season | VÍCTOR SALGADO - FCB

Ciudad Real was the venue on Saturday night for the Asobal Gala to welcome in the 2017/18 season. The city is also the venue for the Supercopa Asobal on Sunday at 5.00pm CET, naturally featuring Liga champions Barça Lassa.

As announced at the end of last season, individual awards went to Gonzalo Pérez de Vargas (best goalkeeper), Víctor Tomàs (best right wing), Raúl Entrerríos (best centre) and Viran Morros (best defender), while Kiril Lazarov, who has just left the club, was best right back.

But what nobody knew was who was going to make off with the season MVP prize, and the winner was deservedly revealed to be our own keeper Pérez de Vargas.

Sunday’s game at the Quijote Arena will see Barça Lassa facing BM Logroño La Rioja for the second official trophy of the campaign.

Back to top