Barça Lassa have been proclaimed Copa del Rey winners for the fifth consecutive time after beating BM Logroño La Rioja 35-28 in the final at the Madrid Arena.

Thanks to Gonzalo Pérez de Vargas, Xavi Pascual’s side ended the match well, scoring seven and conceding just one in a third period that was definitive in ensuring the Barça win.

Dika Mem was a major reason why Barça Lassa could enjoy a 6-3 lead after just five minutes, but far from sitting back and inviting further pressure, La Rioja played a very offensive game of their own, and the first ten minutes saw both teams finding the net easily (8-6).

Thereafter, Barça began to dominate, and were four ahead at one point. Jesús Javier González’s side refused to cave in and a late flurry saw the deficit cut to 19-17 at the break.

Pérez de Vargas keeps Logroño at bay

In the second half, Barça wouldn’t be denied. Thanks to Pérez de Vargas's saves, the Blaugrana took full advantage of the situation to go ahead by seven (27-20). The domination continued and by the 48th minute Xavi Pascual’s side led 30-22. In a final attempt to stay in the game, La Rioja scored four without reply, but it wasn't enough.

A final score of 35-28 saw Barça Lassa earn their fifth title of the season and the 22nd Copa del Rey for the handball section.

Match Details

Barça Lassa 35

BM Logroño 28

Barça Lassa: Pérez de Vargas (-), Enterríos (8), Sorhaindo (-), Rivera (2), Dika Mem (7), Viran (-), Aleix Gómez (2) - starters - Andersson (-), Ariño (2), N'Guessan (6), Sypzrak (2), Dolenec (-) and Pálmarsson (6).

BM Logroño: Krupa (-), Kusan (3), Castro (1), Muñoz (3), Del Arco (2), Garciandia (9) - starters - Naranjo (1), Montoro (1),  Chiuffa (3), Garabaya (1), Kukic (3), Paredes (-) and Cadarso (-).

Breakdown: 5-3, 7-6, 11-8, 13-10, 16-13, 19-17 - break - 22-19, 25-20, 28-20, 31-25, 34-26, 35-28.

Officials: Martin Franco and Fernández Fernández.

Back to top