Barça unable to ovecome Füchse in the semi-finals / Pillaud - IHF

Barça will not be able to retain their Superglobe title. Xavi Pascual’s team have fallen at the semin-final stage, losing to Füchse Berlin who received their reward for their persistence and for never giving up. German goalkeer Stochl was the hero of the day with an excellent performance, causing untold problems for the Barça Lassa attack. The reverse against Berlin was the first defeat in official competition in almost eight months for the blaugranes.

Competitive semi-final

Even though Barça started well, they were unable to open up again up a gap until towards the end of the first half. Füchse defended well and early on had a two goal lead. Lazarov, top scorer in the game with 11 goals, took the chance to give the blaugranes the lead back at 6-5 with 18 minutes gone. The teams exchanged strikes until the two minutes sin binning of Tonnesen handed FC Barcelona Lassa the opportunity to move ahead. Jícha and Lazarov were on target to give Xavi Pascual’s side a 15-12 lead at the break.

Cruel end

In the second half the German side rallied with Stochle in goal in exceptional form. The game headed into the final minutes with Barça still slightly ahead thanks to Vukovic’s goal which made it 24-23. However, Elisson leveled things up at 25-25 with just a couple of minutes left. Stochl denied Entrerríos with what turned out to be a match winning save as Elisson late, late effort gave Füchse a 26-25 win and halted Barça’s attempt to claim a third successive Superglobe title.

Highlights FC Barcelona Lassa - Füchse Berlin... por fcbarcelona


Fuechse Berlin, 26

FC Barcelona, 25

Fuechse Berlin: Petr Stochl, Willy, Weyhrauch (1), Fabian Wiede (2), Jesper Nielsen (2), Jakov Gojun, Drago Vukovic (3), Frederik Petersen –starting seven-, Elisson (4), Fritz, Vrazalic, Heinevetter, Nenadic (8), Tonnesen (3), Nacho Plaza (1) and Schade.

FC Barcelona: Gonzalo Pérez de Vargas, Wael Jallouz (2), Marko Kopljar, Víctor Tomás, Cedric Sorhaindo (2), Gudjon Sigurdsson, Raúl Entrerrios (1) –starting seven- Noddesbo, Sarmiento (2), Ariño (2), Gurbindo, Syprzak (1), Viran Morros, Filip Jicha (4) and Lazarov (11).

Back to top