Sterbik / PHOTO: Archive-FCB

The 2013 World Men’s Handball Championship in Spain is around the corner. The FC Barcelona Intersport players that have been named to their respective national teams are finalising preparations for the very demanding tournament. Here's an overview of the match-ups that the tournament has in store:

Six Blaugrana to feature in the opening match

The six FC Barcelona players that have been named to Spain’s national team will open up the competition on Friday the 11th at 19.00 against Algeria. It will be the inaugural match of the tournament.

Rocas, Sarmiento, Viran, Tomás, Sterbik and Montoro - all of whom play for Spain - will start their campaign in Group D.

In addition to Algeria, Spain will face off against Croatia, Egypt and Hungary in the group stage. All Group D matches will be played in Madrid.

Sorhaindo with France in Granollers

Cedric Sorhaindo’s France, the reigning champions of the world, have been placed in Group A. All Group A matches will be played in Granollers.

France will face off against Germany, Brazil, Argentina, Montenegro and Tunisia in the group stage.

Noddesbo travels to Seville

Denmark, a team that boasts the Blaugrana Jesper Noddesbo in its ranks, have been placed in Group B.

Noddesbo and his teammates will battle it out with Chile, Iceland, Macedonia, Qatar and Russia for a spot in the quarterfinals. All of Group B matches will be played in Seville.

Zaragoza hosts Siarhei Rutenka

The Belarus international and FC Barcelona Intersport player, Siarhei Rutenka, will feature alongside his teammates in Group C.

Denmark will play against Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Poland and Serbia in the group stage. All of Group C matches will be played in Zaragoza.

The schedule

Firday 11

19.00 h Spain - Algeria

Saturday 12

20.15 h Denmark - Qatar

20.15 h Poland - Belarus

20.45 h France - Tunisia

Sunday 13

19.30 h Montenegro – France

20.15 h Russia – Denmark

Monday 14

18.00 h Belarus – Serbia

19.00 h Egypt – Spain

Tuesday 15

15.45 h S. Korea – Belarus

19.00 h Spain – Australia

20.15 h Denmark – Chile

20.45 h França – Brasil

Wednesday 16

20.15 h Iceland - Denmark

20.45 h Argentina – France

Thursday 17

15.45 h Slovenia – Belarus

19.00 h Hungary – Spain

Friday 18

18.15 h France – Germany

20.15 h Denmark – Macedonia

Saturday 19

15.45 h Belarus – Saudi Arabia

19.00 h Spain – Croatia

Back to top