Víctor Tomás lifts the trophy in the Tarraco Arena / VÍCTOR SALGADO-FCB

FC Barcelona and BM Granollers faced off for this title just a week after contesting the Catalan Super Cup. On August 31, the Tarraco Arena in Tarragona was the venue for another dominant display from FCB.

It was a more intense affair than the game seven days earlier but ended with Xavi Pascual’s side three on top (32-28). Víctor Tomás lifted the trophy for the 17th time min club history and the fourth of the Xavi Pascual era. Barça have won the title more than any other club, and are followed in the all-time ranking by BM Atlético Madrid, BM Ciudad Real and BM San Antonio, Pamplona, with three each.