Barça won the title for the second time last season / PHoto: GERMÁN PARGA

Barça have become the first club to ever qualify for the UEFA Futsal Cup Final Four in four consecutive editions of the tournament since the new format was introduced in 2006. The first five editions were played as a straight home and away knockout system.

Having won the title in two of the last three seasons, Barça are now tied with Playas de Castellon with two European crowns each, and are just one short of Inter Movistar, who have a record three wins to their name.

Dynamo Moscow hold the outright record for appearances in the Final Four, six, although they have only gone on to collect the title once, in the first year using the Final Four system in 2006/07. They are followed by Kairat Almaty of Kazakhstan with five appearances and one title, conquered in 2012/13.

There will be a familiar ring to the Final Four when it is played in April 2015. FC Barcelona are being joined by Dynamo Moscow and Kairat Almaty, who also won their Elite Round groups with three wins out of three. The other participant will be either Inter Movistar or Sporting Lisbon, who are playing their decisive match on Sunday.

The four qualifiers will then present proposals to UEFA for the right to host the event. In Barça’s first Final Four, they hosted and won the tournament in Lleida. The following season they travelled to Tbilisi (Georgia) and lost in the semi-finals, while last season the venue was Baku (Azerbaijan), where the club won the title for the second time.

Back to top