Barça Alusport champions of the Copa del Rey 2014

Barça Alusport champions of the Copa del Rey 2014 / PHOTO: VÍCTOR SALGADO - FCB

Barça Alusport continue to reign in the Copa del Rey. In fact, they are the only team to win the competition. In the 2013/14 season, the men managed by Marc Carmona were not dethroned as they went on to secure their fourth consecutive Cup title after battling back and forcing overtime in the final against ElPozo Murcia (4-3).

The champions’ road to the final

The blaugrana made their debut in the competition against Fonononós Gomera. Barça won the game 1 to 9 and progressed to the next round.

The round of 16 wasn’t as easy as they were paired up with Inter Movistar. The Madrid-based team took the lead on two occasions, but the blaugrana fought back to and forced overtime. Wilde scored the match winner in extra time (4-3). In the quarterfinals, Barça faced Hospital Levante Manaor. Barça cruised to a 4-2 victory, and reached the semifinals.

Quick passage to the final

12 to 4. That was the aggregate score that gave Barça passage to the final of the Copa del Rey. The first leg ended in a 2-6, and the second leg finished with the same score.

The fourth Copa del Rey

Against ElPozo Murcia in the final hosted in Bilbao, Barça were made to sweat to keep the cup. the blaugrana had to fight back three times from a one-goal deficit in order to force extra time. In the dramatic ensuing minutes, Fernandao scored the match winner with a minute left on the clock to seal the title (4-3).