Barça Lassa won the first Clàsico of the season after beating Real Madrid 80-84 in a great match. Sito Alonso's men competed throughout a hotly disputed game in which Moerman was the highest scorer with 19 points, and Heurtel was decisive in the last moments of the match.

The first quarter saw intensity from both teams which was also reflected in the scoreboard, a theme that would continue throughout the game. A great three-pointer from Moerman was quickly countered by a triple from Causeur, two more almost following from Doncic. Madrid were up by seven but the Blaugrana continued to press. Pau Ribas and Moerman’s excellence at the basket brought the scores to 19-18 before the buzzer sounded.

Maximum equality

The second half started just as the first one had finished: a triple festival, in this case Moerman and Rudy Fernández. A constant exchange of baskets followed, but at no time was either team more than three points ahead of their opponent. A tight 45-45 on the scoreboard at the break was a fair reflection of play.

In the last two minutes of the third period, Moerman scored seven consecutive points, putting Barça 55-61 ahead. Even so, Real Madrid somehow recovered and there was total equality again before the start of the final quarter (61-61).

The same pattern continued until late on when the small details decided the match in Barça’s favour. Heurtel, with a great individual action, put the visitors three points ahead with just 10 seconds remaining. A Carroll basket with four seconds on the clock meant the hosts only needed two points to draw level, but Heurtel, again, with two free throws, ensured a final score of 80-84. It means that, after eight match days, the blaugranes have six wins and are third, surpassed only by Real Madrid and Valencia with seven wins each.

Match details

Real Madrid, 80
FC Barcelona Lassa, 84

Reial Madrid: Causeur (8), Randolph (4), Doncic (20), Campazzo (6) and Reyes (8) –starters–. Randle (2), Rudy Fernández (10), Carroll (7), Tavares (4), Thompkins (7) and Taylor (4).   
FC Barcelona Lassa: Heurtel (6), Hanga (6), Sanders (13), Moerman (19) and Seraphin (15) –starters–. Ribas (9), Pressey (-), Oriola (3), Koponen (-), Tomic (7) and Navarro (6). 

Periods: 19-18 / 45-45 / 61-61 / 80-84
Officials:  E. Pérez Pizarro, Óscar Perea and Martín Caballero

Back to top