Carlos Arroyo in action in Turkey / EUROLEAGUE

FC Barcelona Lassa’s debut in the Euroleague this season has ended in defeat. Xavi Pascual’s team went down 71-62 to Turkish side Pinar Karsiyaka away from home in a game that was marked by a poor third quarter from the visitors, leaving them too much to do in the final quarter. Iverson with 16 points and Doellman with 14 were the top scorers for the blaugranes and Samardo Samuels made his return after five weeks out.

Even start

Without a clear dominating force, the two sides were very evenly matched in the first half in the Karsiyaka Arena. Barça had the upper hand on the boards but Pinar left Xavi Pascaul’s men very little space to work with. The blaugranes were ahead just once in the first period when Doellman made it 13-11 after eight minutes. The second quarter was equally tight. It was a low scoring moment in the game with both sides organised in defence. Navarro and Vezenkov gave Barça the lead again but it did not last long with Pinar going in at the break with a 29-27 lead.

Pinar surge ahead

The even nature of the contest changed in the third quarter. Pinar racked up eight unanswered points and by the time a basket from Doellman put an end to the run, Barça were 37-29 behind. The Turks maintained their advantage and two late three pointers saw them end the quarter with a 54-38 lead. The blaugranes had nothing to lose and Samuels appeared after five weeks out with an injured hand. Barça did make inroads into the home side’s lead but Palacios and Justin Carter scored important points for Pinar to kill off any hopes of a comeback and condemn Pascual’s team to a 71-62 defeat.

Basket (Euroleague): Pinar Karsiyaka-FCB Lassa... by fcbarcelona


Pinar Karsiyaka Izmir, 71

FC Barcelona Lassa,  62

Pinar Karsiyaka (18+11+25+17): Josh Carter (4), Iverson (16), Kenny Gabriel (12), Justin Carter (11), Sipahi (5) –starting five-, Ragland (10), Palacios (8), Baygul, Gonlum (5), Koc and Altintig.

Barça (18+9+11+24): Ribas (4), Doellman (14), Arroyo (6), Abrines (2), Tomic (5) –starting five-, Lawal (5), Navarro (4), Satoransky (3), Vezenkov (2), Oleson (5), Perperoglou (11) and Samardo Samuels (1).

Back to top