Abrines one of the stars of the win over Obradoiro / VICTOR SALGADO

FC Barcelona overcame the test posed by Obradoiro in their sixth game of the Endesa League. After the effort put in by the team in their Euroleague victory over Lokomotiv Kuban, FC Barcelona Lassa once again had to turn their focus to domestic competition and their unbeaten record in the ACB. Ante Tomic and Álex Abrines were decisive in the contest, especially in the third quarter as the blaugranes were patient against competitive opposition in the Palau.

Early mistakes

Doellman and Abrines gave Barça a quick start and they were 6-0 up after just two minutes. The visitors did not have the best of beginnings shooting wise and the blaugranes were soon 14-5 up after another basket from Doellman. However, the Galicians found their rhythm and reduced the home side’s lead to just two points at 14-12. Samardo Samuels grabbed a basket to make it 16-12 to Barça at the end of the first quarter.

In the second Vezenkov and Ribas pushed Barça’s lead out to nine points and three scoreless minutes for Obradoiro saw them slip away on the scoreboard. Nevertheless, once again Barça allowed the visitors back into the game and Obradoiro took the lead at 27-26. The arrival of Tomic saw him pick up five points that gave Barça a half time lead at 34-31.

Abrines chipped in with seven points at the start of the second half and Tomic added another five to put Barça back in front at 46-35, putting Barça more than 10 points ahead for the first time in the game. The blaugranes kept that advantage until the end of the third quarter (54-42). In the fourth quarter, both sides’ shooting dropped but Barça played patiently. Xavi Pascual’s team extended their advantage to 67-50 with a three pointer from Vezenkov and despite late points from the visitors, Barça held on and remain unbeaten in the Endesa League.

La fitxa

FC Barcelona Lassa, 67

Rio Natura Monbús Obradoiro, 57

Barça: Doellman (2), Abrines (16), Oleson (5), Arroyo (4), Tomic (18) –starting five- Ribas (2), Navarro (-), Satoransky (3), Vezenkov (9), Eriksson (5) i Samuels (3)

Obradoiro: Mcgrath (5), Triguero (3), Waczynski (4), Bendzius (2), Caloiaro (14) –starting five- Haws (4), Brown (6), Pustovyi (8), Yusta (6), Pozas (5) i Cárdenas (-)

Back to top