Carlos Arroyo takes on his opponent in the cup quarter-finals / ACB

FC Barcelona Lassa were eliminated from the Copa del Rey after a narrow 72-73 defeat to Dominion Bilbao at the quarter-final stage on Thursday.

As expected, both sides started the match with great intensity but Bilbao were the more accurate out of the two. Hervelle scored 11 of their first 13 points while Narravo and Oleson brought the match down to a one-point deficit. It was the Basques who ended the first quarter on top (20-18) thanks to some quick attacking plays.

The second saw Barça the more coherent side, with Doellman and Arroyo at the forefront of some slick offensive moves. However, Bilbao’s clinical throwing from the three-point line saw them again have the better of the quarter, going into the break 40-37 ahead.

Barça came out strongly in the third quarter; back-to-back trebles from Satoransky and Perperoglou respectively helped the Catalans gain the lead for the first time in the match on 21 minutes (43-42). Bilbao’s Alex Rouff, who was the game’s top scorer with 18, managed three points of his own towards the end of the third to head into the last quarter level (55-55).

Oleson, Barça’s leading marksman on the night with 14, narrowed a five-point deficit down to two with another from the three-point line late on. The game rested on the shoulders of Tomic who had two free throws to draw level. While he made the first, the players did not have option to throw to win the match, bring the Catalans' cup journey to a harsh end.

[HIGHLIGHTS] BASKET (Copa): FC Barcelona-Bilbao... by fcbarcelona

Match details

FC Barcelona Lassa 72,

Dominion Bilbao 73,

FC Barcelona Lassa: Satoransky (5), Doellman (11), Tomic (8), Navarro (6) i Perperoglou (6) –starting five – Abrines (2), Ribas (9), Samuels (5), Oleson (14), Vezenkov (2), Arroyo (4).

Dominion Bilbao: Bertans (3), Hannah (6),  Bogris (8), Mumbrú (12) i Hervelle (15) –starting five– Suárez (3), López (3), Ruoff (18), López (3),  Mendía, Slezas.

Score by quarter: 18-20 / 19-20 / 18-15 / 17-18

Officials: Herrexuelo, Calatrava, Sacristán, Jiménez

Back to top