Oleson v Olimpia de Milà (PHOTO: Arxiu - FCB)

Barça swept Galatasaray in the quarter-final series (3-0) and secured a spot in the Euroleague’s Final Four in Milan, which will take place from May 16th to the 18th. Since Xavi Pascual took charge of the team, in February of 2008, he’s led Barça to this decisive round of the competition nearly every year.

The manager has been at the helm for six seasons, and in these six years, Barça have reached the Final Four on five occasions, they only missed out in the 2010/11 season. Pascual took charge of the team in 2008, when Barça were in the Top 16 of the tournament, and even though he led the team to the quarter-finals, Barça were eliminated by Maccabi Tel Aviv.

From that year on, Barça have made it to the Final Fours of Berlin 2009, Paris 2010, Istanbul 2012, London 2013 and Milan 2014. In 2010, Barça went on to win the title, the second in the history of the team, after defeating CSKA Moscow in the semi-finals and Olympiakos in the final.

The team with the most Final Four berths

Barça are the team with the most Final Four berths in the Euroleague, with a total of 14. They are followed by CSKA Moscow, who have 12, and they could take their tally up to 13 if they qualify for the decisive round this year.

The manager with the most Final Four appearances is Aíto García Reneses, who took Barça to the Final Four on six occasions (89, 90, 94, 96, 97, 00). With the Madrid-based coach as General Manager of the national team, and with Bozidar Maljkovic on the bench, Barça reached the Final Four in 1991.

The other two managers to take the team to the Final Four are Syetislav Pesic, who also coached the team to the title in 2003, and Dusko Ivanovic, who led the team to the Final Four in 2006.

Back to top