Logo Supercopa 2012

The season has come to an end, which means four teams have qualified for the 2012 Spanish Super Cup. The teams are: Barça Regal, champions of the Liga, Real Madrid, champions of the Copa del Rey, Valencia, for international achievements, and Zaragoza, who will host the competition. The tournament will be played in September -dates to be announced - at the Pabellón Príncipe Felipe in Zaragoza.

Barça and Caja Laboral, the only champions

This will be the ninth edition of the Super Cup. Barça and Caja Laboral have won eight of the previous editions of the title (four apiece). The Azulgranas have won the title three consecutive years, in Gran Canaria, Vitoria and Bilbao against Madrid, Valencia and Caja Laboral, respectively.

Record-breaking audience

The fifth match of the Liga Finals this Saturday, which was broadcast by TVE, was watched by 1.8 million people and had an audience share of 18.6%, which surpassed the channel’s average audience rate by 147%. During the broadcast, at least 5 million people watched the match at some point, making the last match of the Finals the most-watch basketball broadcast in the past 15 years.

Back to top