Navarro and Grimau with last year's trophy / PHOTO: ARXIU FCB

The victory over Real Madrid this Thursday secured first place for Barça Regal in the regular season of the Liga Endesa. This privileged position allows the Catalans to play the play-offs with home-court advantage. As far as history goes, when Barça finish first in the regular season the team goes on to win the title 77% of the time (10 out of 13). The last time, last season, when Pascual’s men finished first in the regular season, with a record of 27 victories and 7 defeats, Barça beat Bizkaia Bilbao Basket 3-0 in the final.

Since the play-off system was introduced to the Liga, Baça went on to win the title, after finishing first in the regular season, in 1986/87, 1987/88, 1988/89, 1989/90, 1994/95 , 1995/96, 1998/99, 2000/01, 2002/03  and in 2010/11.

The curse of finishing first

Pascual’s Barça Regal, and other teams that have finished first, have also had a run of bad results after finishing first in the regular season. In the 2009/10 season, Barça Regal didn’t win the title despite finishing first. The same thing happened to TAU in 2006/07 and 2008/09 and Real Madrid in the 2007/08 season. In fact, over the past five years, not counting last season, the team that finished first did not go on to win the title.

Back to top