Marta Torrejón, Line Roddik, Jenni Hermoso, Andressa Alves i Alexia Putellas, nominated by FIFPro | FCB

Jenni Hermoso, Alexia Putellas, Marta Torrejón, Andressa Alves and Line Røddik are five of the 55 candidates for the FIFPro 2016 XI. The world football union announced the list of players after processing the votes of more than 3,000 footballers from 47 different countries. It is the first time that the FC Barcelona Women’s team has had players nominated at this stage and the ideal XI for 2016 will be published on 8 March.

Barça is the team with the fourth highest number of candidates behind Olympique Lyonnais (11), Paris Saint-Germain (7) and Wolfsburg (6). FC Barcelona Women’s team continues to cement its place amongst the elite of world football as 2016 has also seen the side reach the quarter-finals of the UEFA Champions League for the second successive season.

The list of nominees is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Katarzyna Kiedrzynek (PSG), Hedvig Lindahl (Chelsea), Andreea Paraluta (Atlético Madrid), Tinja-Riika Korpela (Bayern Munich), and Hope Solo.

DEFENDERS: Lucy, Bronze (Manchester City), Kadeisha Buchanan (Olympique Lyonnais), Stephanie Catley (Melbourne City), Nilla Fischer (Wolfsburg), Sara Gama (Brescia), Laura Georges (PSG), Stephanie Houghton (Manchester City), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns), Tabea Kemme (FFC Turbine Potsdam), Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride), Leonie Maier (Bayern Munich), Amel Majri (Olympique Lyonnais), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais), Irene Paredes (PSG), Ali Riley (Rosengard), Line Røddik (FC Barcelona), Becky Sauerbrunn (Kansas City) and Marta Torrejón (FC Barcelona).

MIDFIELDERS: Camille Abily (Olympique Lyonnais), Melanie Behringer (Bayern Munich), Verónica Boquete (PSG), Sara Björk Gunnarsdottir (Wolfsburg), Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg), Tobin Heath (Portland ThornsI, Jennifer Hermoso (FC Barcelona), Amandine Henry (PSG), Saki Kumagai (Olympique Lyonnais), Carli Lloyd (Manchester City), Dzsenifer Maroszan (Olympique Lyonnais), Marta Vieira (Rosengard), Claudia Neto (Linköpings), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign), Caroline Seger (Olympique Lyonnais).

STRIKERS: Andressa Alves (FC Barcelona), Ramona Bachmann (Chelsea), Cristiane (PSG), Shirley Cruz (PSG), Caroline Graham Hansen (Wolfsburg), Ada Hegerberg (Olympique Lyonnais), Eugenie Le Sommer (Olympique Lyonnais), Vivianne Miedema (Bayern Munich), Anja Mittag (Wolfsburg), Alex Morgan (Olympique Lyonnais), Louisa Necib, Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg), Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona), Lotta Schelin (Rosengard) and Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns).


Back to top