Mariona in action against English club Bristol Academy last season / VICTOR SALGADO-FCB

The Barça women’s team will find out on Thursday 20 August who they will be playing in the first round of the Women’s Champions League. The draw is being held in Nyon at 1.30pm CET and can be followed live on the UEFA website and the club’s official accounts on social networks.

10th best UEFA coefficient

This will be the fourth time that FC Barcelona have played in Europe, and they now have the tenth best coefficient in the UEFA ranking, which means they’ll be seeded. The only one of the sixteen unseeded teams that they cannot play is Atlético Madrid, as they are from the same country. Slavia Prague, who they beat at this stage of the competition last season are one of the fifteen possible opponents for Xavi Llorens and his team. All will be revealed on Thursday.

Seeds / group 1: FFC Frankfurt (GER), Olympique Lyonnais (FRA), Wolfsburg (GER), Rosengard (SWE), Paris Saint-Germain (FRA), Brondby (DEN), Fortuna Hjorring (DEN), Glasgow City (SCO), Zvezda-2005 (RUS), FC Barcelona (ESP), FC Zürich (SUI), FC Bayern München (GER), Zorkiy Krasnogorsk (RUS), Liverpool (ENG), Bardolino Verona (ITA), KIF Örebro (SWE).

Group 2: Standard Liège (BEL), Chelsea (ENG), Olimpia Cluj (ROU), Spartak Subotica (SRB), St. Pölten-Spratzern (AUT), FC Twente (NED), Brescia (ITA), PK-35 Vantaa (FIN), Slavia Praha (CZE), Atlético Madrid (ESP), PAOK (GRE), BIIK-Kazygurt (KAZ), Stajrnan (ISL), LSK Kvinner (NOR).

Fourth times in Europe

Barça’s previous European opponents, in chronological order, have been Arsenal (ENG), Brondby (SWE), FC Zürich (SUI), Wolfsburg (GER), Slavia Praha (CZE) and Bristol Academy (ENG).

Back to top