The FC Barcelona Women's football team won the 2014/15 league title before stepping on the field this weekend. / FCB ARCHIVE

The FC Barcelona Women's A team re-captured the league title Atlético Madrid's 1–1 home draw with Valencia on Saturday. Xavi Llorens's squad were hence mathematically proclaimed this season's champions before playing Sunday at Oviedo Moderno at 12.00pm CET. It is Barça's fourth consecutive championship, tying them with Athletic Club de Bilbao and Levante as the teams with the most titles in the Women's First Division.

Historic milestone

Barça have become the first team to win four league titles in a row, surpassing Athletic Bilbao and Rayo Vallecano, who until now were the only other teams with three consecutive championships. The Basques won from 2003 through 2005, while Rayo won from 2009 through 2011. Since the 2011/2012 season Barça have dominated the First Division while stringing together four consecutive championships, a milestone.

With a game in hand, and two games still to be played, Barça are this year's champs after completing a spectacular campaign in which they yielded only one draw and three defeats. They set a record of 88 goals scored while only conceding nine.

FCB Women Four-peat! Congratulations! by fcbarcelona
Back to top