The FC Barcelona Women’s team qualified for the final of the Women’s Catalonia Cup. The Azulgranas clinched passage to the championship match after beating UE Estartit 8 to 0. Xavi Llorens’ players will try to defend their title against Espanyol next Monday at 20.45 (Esport 3). If the Azulgranas win, they’ll equal their cross-town rivals’ 4 Catalonia Cup title record.

Superiority and victory

Barça took to the pitch to face off against Estartit in front of packed stands full of eager fans. The first chance of the match fell to Barça’s Alexia Putellas on four minutes, but Seffi Maglionini did well to deny the the goal. Maglionini was subbed out of the match and was rushed to hospital after the play. Four minutes later, the referee pointed to the penalty spot and Putellas stepped up to take the shot. The reserve keeper, Marta Guixeras, saved the penalty to keep the teams level. Xavi Llorens’ players were less forgiving as time ticked off the clock and went to the break with a 2-0 lead thanks to goals from Carol and Sonia Bermúdez.

At the start of the second half, the Azulgranas dominated and went on a six-goal rampage. The team’s fitness level, along with a potent attacking play style, gave Llorens’ players a valuable victory that sees them through to the final. Five different Barça players scored against Estartit, but the most prolific of Barça’s goal scorers was Sonia Bermúdez; she finished the game with a hat-trick.




FC Barcelona: Esther Sullastres, Kenti Robles, Ani Escribano, Marta Unzue, Leila Ouahabi, Virginia Torrecilla, Olga Garcia, Míriam Diéguez, Alèxia Putelles, Sonia Bermudez, Càrol Férez. Bench: Meli Nicolau, Laura Ràfols, Vicky Losada, Gema Gili, Laura Gutiérrez, Zaira Flores, Alba Aznar.

UE Estartit: Marta Guixeras, Steffi Maglionini, Meri Martí, Naomi Garcia, Laura Gasulla, Sofia Hernández, Saray Mesa, Carla Puiggròs, Marina Poyato, Mar Vergés, Ada Martínez. Bench: Gemma Duran, Marina Vinardell, Judit Del Moral, Olga Ortiz, Neus Perella.

Referee: Meritxell Bernat Salvat

Goals: 1-0 Càrol Férez, 21’, 2-0 Sonia Bermúdez, 44’, 3-0 Meli Nicolau, 49’, 4-0 Alba Aznar, 57’, 5-0 Càrol Férez, 67’, 6-0 Sonia Bermúdez, 75’, 7-0 Olga Garcia, 79’, 8-0 Sonia Bermúdez, 89’.

Back to top