Leo Messi finished in the top three finalists for the 11th consecutive year | MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

Leo Messi finished second in the 2017 Ballon d’Or. The Argentinian, who was in the top three for the 11th consecutive year (since 2007), continues to be the player with the most wins and is now tied with Cristiano Ronaldo, winner of the trophy this year, on five. Behind Messi, Neymar Jr. occupied third place, completing the podium.

The other Blaugrana nominee among the 30 finalists was Luis Suárez, who finished in 13th place. The TOP-10 is made up of the three finalists already mentioned along with Buffon, Modric, Sergio Ramos, Mbappé, Kanté, Lewandowski and Harry Kane.

It should be remembered that Leo Messi won the trophy in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, while in 2007 he was third, and in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017 he finished second. Historical records for a player who, year after year, continues to be crowned among the best in the world.


Back to top