1 / 11

Barça's managers for the last 20 years

It is just over 20 years since Johan Cruyff left FC Barcelona following eight years as first team coach at the end of the 1995/6 season. Since then, ten different managers have taken the reigns at the Catalan club. Frank Rijkaard with a total of five season has been the longest-serving of them. Carry on reading to find out about each of these ten coaches’ record with Barça.


2 / 11

Bobby Robson (1996/97)

He was the first manager of the post-Cruyff era and even though he was only here for a season he managed to win two trophies. The English coach won the Cup Winners Cup against PSG and the Copa del Rey against Betis at the Bernabéu as well as a second placed finish in the league. He died in 2009 following a long illness at the age of 76.


3 / 11

Louis van Gaal (1997-00 and 2002/03)

The Dutchman arrived in Barcelona in the best way possible. During his first season, he won three trophies: LaLiga, the Copa del Rey and the European Supercup. The following season he won the league again. However, following a trophy less third season Louis Van Gaal left the Club. Two campaigns later, he returned for a second go in 2002/3 but he didn’t complete that season. In total, he managed Barça for 201 official games.


4 / 11

Llorenç Serra Ferrer (2000/01)

Following Van Gaal’s first exit, the Mallorcan coach was chosen to manage the first team. He had been at the Club since 1997 in a directorial role before he replaced the Dutchman. Serra Ferrer didn’t last the whole season although he was able to guide his squad to a UEFA Cup semi-finals appearance. After having been removed as coach he stayed at the Club for another year in a different role.


5 / 11

Carles Rexach (1988, 1991, 1996 and 2001/02)

Rexach was Luis Aragonés’ assistant manager during the 1987/88 season and Johan Cruyff’s between 1988/96). During these stints, he helped win a plethora of titles and occasionally he took on the role of manager during the years: 1988, 1991 and 1996. At the end of the 2000/01 season he became first team manager and his side took part in the Champions League during both his seasons in charge.


6 / 11

Radomir Antic (2003)

The Serbian coach arrived in January 2003 to replace Louis Van Gaal following an interim period in which the side was left in the hands of Toño de la Cruz. Antic managed the Catalan side for 24 official matches and he was able to secure qualification for the UEFA Cup thanks to a sixth-place finish in the league. Moreover, he managed to reach the quarter-finals of the Champions League against Juventus.


7 / 11

Frank Rijkaard (2003-2008)

The Dutch coach who arrived in 2003 to take over as first team coach ended up managing for five seasons until 2008. This was a golden period in which Barça managed to win their second Champions League (2005/6), two LaLiga (2004/05 and 2005/06) and two Spanish Supercups in 2005/06 and 2006/07. In total he managed Barça for 283 official games and was instrumental in recovering Barça’s identity and playing style.


8 / 11

Josep Guardiola (2008-2012)

With Pep’s arrival, FC Barcelona became winners again and the trophies didn’t stop rolling in. Guardiola’s side won an incredible 14 trophies from a potential 19 with two Champions Leagues, three leagues, two Copas del Rey, three Spanish Supercups, two European Supercups and two Club World Cups. As well as the silverware, Pep implemented a unique style of play which led to them being recognised as one of the best teams in the history of the game.


9 / 11

Francesc 'Tito' Vilanova (2012/13)

After four years as Guardiola’s number two, Tito Vilanova managed the side for a season. During this campaign, his team delivered a record league season with 100 points and 115 goals in LaLiga. Unfortunately, the Catalan coach was diagnosed with a tumor in his glandular and he had to step down on the 25 April 2014.


10 / 11

Gerardo ‘Tata’ Martino (2013/14)

The manager from Rosario arrived in Barcelona with pre-season preparations already underway following Tito’s exit. He started by winning the Spanish Supercup against Atlético de Madrid in the summer but was unable to add to that success. The Argentinian’s side lost the final of the Copa del Rey and the league slipped out of their grasp on the last day of the season with a draw against Atlético.


11 / 11

Luis Enrique Martínez (2014-2017)

The Asturian returned to Barça to take charge of the first team and his first season went as well as it could have with his team winning the triple (Liga, Copa, Champions League). The following season his side won the league and the Copa again as well as the Spanish and European Supercup and the Club World Cup. That is a total of eight trophies in two season and he can add to this current campaign, which will be his last one with the club, as his side are in the Copa final.

Back to top