Barça's last 8 years in the Copa del Rey / FCB

[[DES_1]]FC Barcelona have been in glorious form in the Copa del Rey of late, and the story continues. After sealing passage against Valencia in the semi-finals, they now face the chance to extend on what is already a record 27 cup titles. And this is the sixth final in just eight years, three of which have already been won by the Catalans, in 2009, 2012 and 2015.

Final flurry

In 2008/09, Pep Guardiola led the team to the final against Athletic Bilbao at Mestalla, and Barça won 4-1 despite conceding the opening goal. After a one-year absence, they were back in 2010/11, once again at Mestalla, but that time missed out on the trophy after a 1-0 defeat to Real Madrid.

The Blaugrana made it to the final again in 2011/12, once again against Athletic Bilbao but this time at the Vicente Calderón. In his last game in charge, Guardiola was able to celebrate a 3-0 win with two goals from Pedro and one from Messi.

The 2012/13 season was the only other time in the last eight years that Barça have not appeared in the grand final. But just like the previous occasion, they were back a year later, once again at Mestalla, where they lost to the same opposition, Real Madrid.

In 2014/15, with Luis Enrique now in charge, Barcelona made it to five finals in seven years, and for the third time against Athletic. The Camp Nou was the venue, and the Basques were beaten yet again, 3-1, with two of Barça’s goals scored by Messi and the other by Neymar.

Messi goals equal wins

Whenever the Argentinian has scored in a final, Barça have won the cup. He got goal number three in 2008/09, and also found the target in 2011/12 and twice in 2014/15, each time against Athletic Bilbao.

Back to top