Barça keep beating records / FCB

FC Barcelona have done it again. The most successful period in the Club’s long history continues with a 24th league title, the sixth in the last eight seasons. Another statistic that just bears out how the blaugranes have dominated La Liga in recent year – in the last 12 years, no fewer than eight league titles have been won by Barça. In the last eight seasons the only other sides to have been La Liga champions are Atlético Madrid and Real Madrid, both having won the title once in that time.

This is without doubt the most glorious period, in terms of success on the field, eclipsing even the four successive league titles won by Johan Cruyff’s Dream Team beginning in 1990. In fact, since that season Barça have been crowned champions in 13 of the last 25 league seasons. Overall Barça are now just eight behind Real Madrid who lead with 32 La Liga titles and still way ahead of Atlético (10), Athletic and Valencia (8).

The Club’s achievement is incomparable. No other team in the main five European leagues (France, Germany, Italy, England and Portugal) has won six league titles in eight seasons, a fact that just underlines the team’s commitment to winning during what has been the most glorious era in FC Barcelona’s history.

Back to top