Neymar Jr has yet another reason to celebrate an amazing 2015 / MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

[[DES_1]]Neymar Jr has won the Samba Gold trophy for the second year in a row. This is the trophy presented since 2008 to the best Brazilian player in Europe, for which the Barça striker gathered a massive 37.8% of the votes from a shortlist of 30 players from the South American country, which also included Rafinha and Dani Alves. He was followed in the ranking by Bayern Munich’s Douglas Costa (13%) and Inter Milan’s Felipe Melo (9.3%).

The result was based on an equal count of votes cast by eleven journalists, a set of special guest Brazilian celebrities and former players (including Cafu and Juninho) and over 100,000 online users.

Neymar Jr has had a wonderful 2015, scoring 41 goals in all competitions to win a nomination for the Ballon D’Or along with his team-mate Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. He will be presented with the trophy in Barcelona in February

Samba Gold Winners

2008 Kaká (AC Milan)
2009 Luís Fabiano (Sevilla)
2010 Maicon (Inter)
2011 Thiago Silva (AC Milan)
2012 Thiago Silva (PSG)
2013 Thiago Silva (PSG)
2014 Neymar (Barça)
2015 Neymar (Barça)

Back to top