Messi, Iniesta, Sergio, Alves and Piqué: the three time winners / MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

FC Barcelona’s victory over River Plate in the final of the FIFA Club World Cup was yet another example of the Club’s domination on the international stage. Barça can now boast three Club World Cup trophies in the last six years: the victory in 2009 in Abu Dhabi over Estudiantes, the triumph in Yokohama in 2011 over Santos and the most recent win, also in Yokohama, over their Argentine opponents.

Five members of the current squad have taken part in all three of those campaigns: Gerard Piqué, Andrés Iniesta, Dani Alves, Sergio Busquets and Leo Messi, a feat that is unique to this magnificent quintet.

Leo Messi, of course, has had an important role in all three finals, having found the net in each one. Against Estudiantes in 2009, the Barça striker found the net in extra time, famously chesting the ball home to give his side a 2-1 victory over the Argentines. In the final in 2011 against Santos, Messi scored not once but twice in the 4-0 win.

Finally, this year, in the final in Yokohama it was the Barça number ‘10’ who opened the scoring in the 3-0 triumph over River Plate. Messi now has five goals in the tournament and leads the all-time ranking alongside his team mate Luis Suárez and César Delgado, the former Monterrey player.

The contribution of Piqué, Iniesta, Alves and Sergio Busquets has been no less significant. All four have started every final in the competition with the exception of Iniesta in 2009 against Estudiantes. The midfielder did feature in the semi-final against Mexican side Atlante, a game in which Sergio Busquets scored the goal that brought Barça back on level terms.

Back to top