Luis Enrique gets his hands back on the same trophy he won as a player / MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

Luis Enrique Martínez has become the fourth person to win the European Super Cup as both a manager and a player. He was in the Barça team that won the trophy in 1997 by beating Cup Winners’ Cup winners Borussia de Dortmund, and scored the opening goal in a 2-0 win at the Camp Nou in the first of two legs.

A 1-1 draw in Germany was enough to ensure that Barça took the title 3-1 on aggregate. Now back at the club as first team manager, he has repeated the success following Tuesday night’s action-packed 5-4 victory over Sevilla in Tbilisi. Before the Asturian, Pep Guardiola, Carlo Ancelotti and Diego Simeone also won the traditional curtain-raiser to the European football season both on the pitch and on the bench.  

Five each for Guardiola and Ancelotti

Pep Guardiola and Carlo Ancelotti have both won the European Super Cup a massive five times. Both did so twice as players and three times as managers. Guardiola won it four times with Barça, as a player in 1992 and 1997 and as manager in 2009 and 2011, and then added a fourth as manager of Bayern Munich. Ancelotti won it twice as part of the great AC Milan team (1989 and 1990) and then managed the Italian club to a further two titles in 2003 and 2007, before winning it a fifth time with Real Madrid.

Simeone won the Super Cup when playing for Lazio (1999) and then won it again as manager of Atlético Madrid (2012).  

Cruyff first but unofficially

Johan Cruyff actually achieved this unique double before any of the other four. He won the first ever European Super Cup with Ajax in 1972 and was manager of the victorious Barça team of 1992. However, the 1972 edition was never officially sanctioned by UEFA because the other contender, Glasgow Rangers, were serving a one-season ban for alleged misbehaviour of their fans.

Back to top