Marc Bartra and Sergio Busuquets have been called to represent Spain in France this summer. / sefutbol.com

Spanish national team head coach Vicente del Bosque released a provisional squad list for this summer’s Euro 2016 on Tuesday.

Twenty-five players were named to the team for the tournament, to be held in France from 10 June to 10 July.

Making the squad were FC Barcelona players Gerard Piqué, Marc Bartra, Jordi Alba, Sergio Busquets and Andrés Iniesta.

The definitive squad, consisting of 23 men, will be released on 31 May, following the end of the Copa del Rey, the UEFA Europa League, and the UEFA Champions League.  

To get ready for the competition, Spain will play three friendlies — against Bosnia on 29 May in Switzerland; against South Korea on 1 June in Austria; and against Georgia on 7 June in Madrid.

Three others called to duty

In addition to the five FC Barcelona players summoned to play for Spain in UEFA Euro 2016 France, three others got the call from the their respective countries. Hosts France have named defender Jérémy Mathieu to their team, while Belgium have named defender Thomas Vermaelen, and Croatia have named midfielder Ivan Rakitic. Alen Halilovic, on loan to Sporting, was also summoned to play for Croatia.


Back to top