From left to right: Luis Suárez, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. / FCB

UEFA has formally announced the three finalists for the 2014/15 UEFA Best Player Award. FC Barcelona strikers Leo Messi and Luis Suárez, and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo are the nominees for the award. The winner will be announced on 27 August at a gala in Monaco that will also feature this year's draw for the UEFA Champions League group stage.

Making the preliminary top ten but missing out on the top three were Barça striker Neymar, Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon and teammates Andrea Pirlo, Paul Pogba, Carlos Tévez and Arturo Vidal, as well as Eden Hazard of Chelsea. Neymar actually finished fifth in the voting with 23 points, one point behind Buffon.

The award, which is in its fifth year and is voted on by journalists from 54 different countries, has been won by an FC Barcelona player twice before. Messi took the prize in 2011 while Andres Iniesta was the winner in 2012. Bayern Munich forward Franck Ribéry won in 2013 before Cristiano Ronaldo took home the award in 2014.

Back to top