FC Barcelona now have the same number of European Super Cups to their name as AC Milan. After beating Sevilla in Tbilisi (5-4), they have matched the Italian club’s record of five wins.

AC Milan won the curtain-raiser to the European football season in 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003 and 2007. Curiously, the first of those came when they beat Barça 2-1 on aggregate in 1989 and the last in 2007, when they defeated this season’s runner-up, Sevilla, 3-1.

Barca’s other four

Barça won the European Super Cup for the first time in 1992. Coached by Johan Cruyff, the ‘Dream Team’ beat Werder Bremen 2-1 at the Camp Nou after a 1-1 draw in Germany. After winning the Cup Winners’ Cup in 1997, Barça had the honour of playing Champions League winners Borussia Dortmund in the final edition of the game to be played over two legs. Coached by Louis Van Gaal, Barça won the first leg 2-0 at home (with current manager Luis Enrique scoring the first of the two goals) and then drew 1-1 at the Westfalenstadion to clinch the title.

The other two titles were won far more recently. In 2009, Pep Guardiola’s side defeated Shaktar Donetsk 1-0 at the Stade Louis II in Monaco, Pedro scoring the only goal in extra time to keep the dream of the incredible sextet alive. Two years later, in 2011, Barça collected the trophy for the fourth time, also in Monaco, following a 2-0 win over Europa League champions FC Porto, the goals scored by Leo Messi and Cesc Fàbregas.

Tonight’s game against Sevilla marked a record eighth appearance for Barça in the European Super Cup. They also featured in 1979 (losing to Nottingham Forest), 1982 (Aston Villa), 1989 (AC Milan) and 2006 (Sevilla).

The only other club to have won the European Super Cup more than twice is Liverpool, with three titles to their name. They are followed, on two, by Real Madrid, Ajax, Anderlecht, Sevilla, Juventus and Atlético Madrid.

Trophy and memorial plaque

FC Barcelona may now add yet another replica of the European Super Cup to its trophy cabinets in the club museum. In recognition of this fifth victory, UEFA will also be presenting the club with a memorial plaque.

Back to top