Arda Turan chats to Rakitic in the tunnel at Camp Nou / MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

Arda Turan is the tenth signing by FC Barcelona from Atlético Madrid. The arrival of the Turkish midfielder means that Barça have brought in a player from ‘los colchoneros’ for the first time in 12 years. The last player to make the trip from the Vicente Calderón to Camp Nou was striker Luis García, a player who had come up through the youth ranks at the blaugranes. He arrived in the summer of 2003 after just a season with Atlético. In 2007 he would return to Madrid for a two year spell.

 Members of the ‘Dream Team’

Up to four members of the famous ‘Dream Team’ squad came to Barcelona via Atlético. The first was defender Julio Alberto who played for nine seasons at Barça. The Asturian was signed in the summer of 1982 and then left in 1991 after having claimed the league title with Johan Cruyff’s team.

Julio Salinas and Eusebio came from the Calderón in the summer of 1988, whilst Juan Carlos Rodríguez made the same trip in 1991. All played important roles in the four consecutive league titles won the ‘Dream Team’ and in the Club’s first ever European Cup success.

The first four players to leave the capital for Catalan climes were the striker Marcos Alonso (1982-87), the Portuguese Mendonça (1967-69), defender Valcárcel (1939-40) and the midfielder Victoriano de Santos (1933-34).

10 blaugranes signed from Atlético
Name Football name Position Years at Barça
Victoriano de Santos De Santos Midfielder 1933-1934
Miguel Ángel Valcárcel Valcárcel Defender 1939-1940
Jorge Alberto Mendonça Mendonça Striker 1967-1969
Marcos Alonso Marcos Alonso Striker 1982-1987
Julio Alberto Moreno Julio Alberto Defender 1982-1991
Julio Salinas Salinas Striker 1988-1994
Eusebio Sacristán Eusebio Midfielder 1988-1995
Juan Carlos Rodríguez Juan Carlos Defender 1991-1994
Luis García Luis García Striker 2003-2004
Arda Turan Arda Turan Midfielder 2015-

Back to top