Liga, Copa del Rey, Champions League, European Super Cup and Club World Cup. Five titles to end a dream 2015 and throw further merit on Luis Enrique at the helm of the team. It’s been a year  to match 2011, when Guardiola led FCB to every title apart from the Copa del Rey and just one trophy short of that historic and memorable 2009. And the win in Yokohama also makes Barça the only club to have won the FIFA Club World Cup three times.

We could call this the third version of the Barça of the Five Cups, that legendary team of 1951-52 that won the Liga, Cup, Latin Cup, Eva Duarte Cup and the Martini Rossi Cup. There was no European Cup in those days, but with Basora, César, Kubala, Moreno and Manchón leading the way, that was the first great trophy-hauling Barça team.

From Madrid to Yokohama

The first title of this wonderful year of 2015 was the league, won when Leo Messi scored at the Calderón. That was the prize for consistency, and shortly after Barça added the Copa del Rey with a 3-1 defeat of Athletic Bilbao at the Camp Nou. Messi was again the star of the show with that brilliant slaloming goal. And there was more to come with the club’s fifth Champions League, won in Berlin against Juventus, with goals from Rakitic, Suárez and Neymar bringing a 3-1 win that made Barça the first club to achieve the treble twice.

The summer brought the European Super Cup in Tbilisi following an incredible game with Sevilla decided by a Pedro goal in extra time. Athletic stunned Barça to take the Spanish Super Cup, the only trophy the Catalans missed out on this season, but the year ended with further glory. River Plate were beaten 3-0 in the Club World Cup final in Yokohama and this team that can’t stop making history was celebrating yet again!

FIFA Club World Cup winners

3, FC Barcelona (2015, 2011 & 2009)
2, SC Corinthians (2000 & 2012)
1, Sao Paulo FC (2005)
1, SC Internacional (2006)
1, AC Milan (2007)
1, Manchester United (2008)
1, FC Inter Milan (2010)
1, FC Bayern Munich (2013)
1, Real Madrid (2014)

Back to top