Bartra and Piqué congratulated Diego Costa after scoring the fourth goal of the evening / FIFA.COM

Spain did what they were supposed to do on Sunday by beating Luxembourg, just days after their disappointing upset loss to Slovakia. In the third qualifying match for the 2016 UEFA European Championship, Vicente del Bosque's team had no problems dispatching their opponent. FC Barcelona star Andres Iniesta made his debut as captain, starting along side his Barça teammates Busquets, Piqué, Bartra, and Jordi Alba. Pedro came on in the second half.

Spain took the field with plenty of new faces, among them Bartra, and were aligned in a 4-4-2 formation. Luxembourg allowed Spain’s midfielders plenty of space, providing easy pickings for Diego Costa, the Chelsea forward who had four fantastic opportunities in the game's first 24 minutes, and Alcácer. The first goal, however, came courtesy of David Silva, who, in the 26th minute, sent a shot from just outside the area into the upper corner of the net.

Spain were relentless on attack. But despite their constant threats, it was goalkeeper David De Gea who had to make a nice play on a dangerous cross in the 37th minute to keep the scoreboard at 1-0. Luxembourg were beginning to settle in when Spain's second goal came from Alcácer in the 41st. The two goal lead helped calm Del Bosque's squad for the second half. With a steady rain falling throughout, Spain deftly kept control of the game. Diego Costa kept pushing and in the 69th minute his persistence paid off with Spain's third goal after winning a scrum in front of the net.

An instant later, in the 70th minute, Pedro came on for Silva. Iniesta was then subbed out for Bernat, who would later add on the fourth and final goal.

Match stats


Luxembourg: Joubert, Chanot, Janisch, Jans, Philipps, Gerson, Martins (Turpel, 61), Mutsch (Deville, 86), Holter, Da Mota (Payal, 75) and Bensi.

Spain: De Gea, Carvajal, Piqué, Bartra, Jordi Alba, Busquets, Koke, Iniesta (Pedro,  70), Silva (Bernat, 70), Alcácer and Diego Costa.

Goals: 0-1 Silva (26), 0-2 Alcácer (41), 0-3 Diego Costa (69), 0-4 Bernat  (87).

Back to top