Leo Messi and Javier Mascherano are both through to Sunday's final / PHOTO: FIFA.COM

Leo Messi, Javier Mascherano and Neymar Jr have all been nominated for the Golden Ball, the FIFA award for the player of the tournament. The other players on the shortlist are Di María (Argentina), Hummels (Germany) Kroos (Germany), Lahm (Germany), Müller (Germany), Robben (Holland) and James (Colombia). The winner will be announced after Sunday’s final in Río de Janeiro.

Following Forlán

Messi and Mascherano are both appearing the final for Argentina against Germany, while Neymar played a massive role in Brazil’s progress until getting injured in the quarter finals.

The last winner of the award was Diego Forlán of Uruguay at South Africa 2010

Back to top