Messi, at Camp Nou against Elche / FOTO: GERMÁN PARGA - FCB


Leo Messi has started the 2014/15 La Liga season with a bang, scoring two goals in the 3-0 win against Elche at the Camp Nou on Sunday. That brace takes him ever closer to Telmo Zarra as the top goalscorer in the history of the competition.

Telmo Zarraonandia Montoya, professionally known as Zarra, was a Basque striker who spent almost all of his career at Athletic Bilbao, from 1940 to 1955, and won the ‘Pichichi’ title six times.

As for Messi, he never tires of scoring goals. Since his very first as a professional against Albacete on 1 May 2005, he has gone on to score a total of 245 in 278 La Liga games. He is now a just six behind the Athletic Bilbao star, who scored 251 in 271 games for his club. As Messi has never scored less than 10 goals in a season since 2006/07, and finished the 2011/12 season with 50 goals in 37 games, it seems that record is about to fall.

[[BOTOVERMELL::MESSI PROFILE++::http://www.fcbarcelona.com/football/first-team/staff/players/messi::HOR::NF::NO-TRACKING::::::]]

Opening day magic

Since the 2010/11 season, Leo has never failed to find the target in the first game of the season, with one goal against Racing (0-3), two against Villarreal (5-0), two against Real Sociedad (5-1) and two against Levante (7-0). His two against Elche have got him off to a fine start in his quest for his fourth ‘Pichichi’ title and his fourth Golden Boot.

Who was Zarra?

Telmo Zarraonandia Montoya (20/1/21 – 23/2/2006) played for Athletic Bilbao from 1940 to 1955. In addition to his Liga goalscoring record, his 38 goals in 19550/51 were also an all-time record for a single league season until Cristiano Ronaldo went two better in 2011/12, a record dwarfed the season after by Leo Messi's tally of 50.

He only made 20 appearances for Spain, but scored an average of one goal a game for his country, including the winner against England at the 1950 World Cup. He died of a heart-attack in 2006, and the Zarra Trophy for the highest scoring Spaniard in a Liga season is named in his honour.

Back to top