Xavi won the Copa Catalunya with Barça in 2012/13. PHOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ-FCB.

Espanyol and Barça face each other in the first ever edition of the Catalan Super Cup on Wednesday night at the Estadi Montilivi in Girona. The tournament has been created as a complement to the Copa Catalunya and features Catalonia’s two top flight clubs, while lower division teams will continue to battle for the former trophy (along with the Barça and Espanyol reserve teams). The last four finals (the 2011/12 edition was suspended) all featured the same two sides, and here’s a reminder of what happened:

2013/14: Espanyol v Barça (0-0, 2-3 pens)
FC Barcelona won the last edition of the Copa Catalunya. The game was played by the respective B teams at the Montilivi, Girona, and after a 0-0 draw, FCB keeper Ortolà was the hero by saving three penalties in the decisive shootout.

2012/13: Espanyol v Barça (1-1, 2-4 pens)
The final was played in Lleida at the end of the season. Although the ‘budgies’ went ahead through Simao, Cesc grabbed a last-minute equaliser. Cesc, Piqué, Alexis and Villa all converted in the shootout to clinch the titlle.

2011: Espanyol v Barça (3-0)

Espanyol’s Thievy was the star of the evening in Tarragona, netting all three of his side’s goals. Barça, represented by the B team and with Grimaldo making his debut at the tender age of just 15, held on until half-time, but the second half saw Espanyol march to victory.

2010: Espanyol v Barça (2-1)
The tournament was a 3-way round robin held on one night in Sabadell. Both Espanyol and Barça beat L’Hospitalet to set up a decisive 45-minute meeting in which Verdú got the blue-and-whites off to the perfect start with two goals. Bartra pulled one back for Barça but it wasn’t enough.

Back to top