Barça have made history with their second treble

2008/09 and 2014/15 go down in history as the two greatest seasons in FC Barcelona history. After beating Juventus at the Olympiastadion on Saturday night, they have completed the treble of Liga, Copa del Rey and Champions League, just like they did under Pep Guardiola six years ago. 

Seven different teams had won similar trebles in the past, but Barça are the first to repeat the achievement of 2009, the year that they won 6-2 at the Santiago Bernabéu on the way to the Liga title, beat Athletic Bilbao at Mestalla to win the cup and then overcame Manchester United in Rome to become champions of Europe.

Of course, they went on to add the Spanish and European Super Cups and the Club World Cup, meaning an unprecedented six major titles in a calendar year.

Repeat performance

Six years later, now under Luis Enrique, and they have done it again. They clinched the league title at the Vicente Calderón, home of the defending champions, with a game in hand. Athletic were once again the victims in the cup final, this time at the Camp Nou, and the Champions League was secured on Saturday night in the German capital against another side that was chasing a treble, Juventus of Turin.

No fewer than seven of the current Barça squad were involved in both treble-winning campaigns, namely Xavi Hernández, Andrés Iniesta, Leo Messi, Gerard Piqué, Dani Alves, Sergio Busquets and Pedro Rodríguez.

Seven treble winning teams

As well as Barça (2009 and 2015), the other six teams to have won the continental title and their domestic league and cup double in the same season are:

· Glasgow Celtic (1967)
· Ajax Amsterdam (1972)
· PSV Eindhoven (1988)
· Manchester United (1999)
· Inter Milan (2010)
· Bayern Munich (2013)

Back to top