Segarra and Gonzalvo with the cup won in 1963 / FCB

Whatever the result in next Saturday’s Spanish Cup Final at the Camp Nou, it will be a first – both sides have a 100% record in Cup Finals in Barcelona. This first meeting between Barça and Athletic Club Bilbao in a Cup Final in the city will therefore spell the end of the two Clubs’ unbeaten records.

Barça have won four Cups in their home city, though only one of them in the Camp Nou, when they beat Zaragoza 3-1 in 1963. The other wins in Barcelona came in 1957 against Espanyol at the Olympic Stadium in Montjuïc (1-0) and at the old Camp de la Indústria in 1912 and 1913, beating Gimnàstica de Madrid 2-0 and then Real Sociedad 2-1.

Athletic Club Bilbao have never lifted a Cup at the Camp Nou, with four of their six titles won in the city (1930, 1933, 1944 and 1945) at Montjuic, whilst the other two were won at  Les Corts (1923) and the Carrer Muntaner ground (1917).

So, Saturday night will either see the Basques win their first title at the Camp Nou as Barça fail on home ground for the first time, or lose their first Cup Final in Barcelona, as Barça make it five out of five in their home town.

Finalist Opponent Resul Year
FC Barcelona Sociedad Gimnástica Española 2-0 1912
FC Barcelona Real Sociedad 2-2 / 0-0 / 2-1 1913
Athletic Club Real Madrid 4-0 1917
Athletic Club Europa 1-0 1923
Athletic Club Real Madrid 3-2 1930
Athletic Club Real Madrid 2-1 1933
Athletic Club Valencia 2-0 1944
Athletic Club Valencia 3-2 1945
FC Barcelona Espanyol 1-0 1957
FC Barcelona Zaragoza 3-1 1963
Back to top