FC Barcelona will face off against AC Milan, Ajax and FC Celtic in the Group Stage of the UEFA Champions League. Tata Martino and his men watched as Barça’s name was pulled out of Pot 1 at 18.09. Minutes later, AC Milan (Pot 2), Ajax (Pot 3), and Celtic (Pot 4) joined the Blaugrana in Group H.

Barça to start and end at home

FC Barcelona will begin and end the group stage at the Camp Nou. The Blaugrana will first take on Ajax on Wednesday on September 18 and close out the group stage against Celtic Glasgow on December 11. Sandwiched in between these two matches, Barça will travel to Glasgow (October 1), Milan (October 22) and Amsterdam (November 26), meaning that the only remaining home game – Round 4 of the group stage – will be against AC Milan on November 6.

Of all of Barça’s group stage matches the one that stands out the most is the away match in Milan, which is scheduled on the same week Barça will take on Real Madrid at the Camp Nou (October 26 or 27).

It’s worth noting that the same group the senior side have to play against is the same group that Barça’s U18 team must face in the UEFA Youth League.

The Groups

Group A: Manchester United, Shakhtar Donetsk, Bayer Leverkusen and Real Sociedad

Group B: Real Madrid, Juventus, Galatasaray and Copenhagen

Group C: Benfica, Paris Saint-Germain, Olympiacos and Anderlecht

Group D: Bayern Munich, CSKA Moscou, Manchester City and Viktoria Plzen

Group E: Chelsea, Schalke 04, Basel and Steaua Bucarest

Group F: Arsenal, Olympique Marseille, Borussia Dortmund and Napoli

Group G: Porto, Atletico Madrid, Zenit and Austria Viena

Group H: FC Barcelona, AC Milan, Ajax and Celtic

Back to top