Cesc, Iniesta and Soldado / PHOTO: FIFA.COM

The draw for the qualification groups for the Euro 2016 was held this afternoon in Nice, France. Vicente del Bosque’s team, the reigning champions of the competition, were placed in Group C along with Ukraine, Slovakia, Belorussia, Macedonia and Luxembourg. Afellay’s Netherlands were placed in Group A, with the Czech Republic, Turkey, Latvia, Iceland and Kazakhstan.

Therefore, Piqué, Busquets, Iniesta, Pedro and company will feature in a total of ten matches between September 7, 2014, and October 13, 2015.

It’s worth noting that the top two teams of each group will qualify directly for the final stage of the tournament. The teams that finish third will go on to an additional qualifying round.

Back to top