Barça players celebrating La Lliga title in 1994

La Lliga title in the 1993/94 season / PHOTO: ARXIU FCB

The 1994 La Liga title win will be remembered mostly for the penalty miss by Miroslav Djukic, the Deportivo Coruña player, which handed the fourth consecutive league title to Johan Cruyff's Barça team. That 14th of May 1994 was once again an afternoon of transistor radios. The Dream Team were up against Seville at the Camp Nou, whilst Deportivo, at the top of the league table, were at home to Valencia.

Barça did their job well. Although Seville went in front twice with goals from Simeone and Suker, Cruyff's team turned the match around, and ended up winning 5-2 with goals from Stoichkov (2), Romário, Laudrup, and Bakero.

But despite the win, all Barça eyes were on La Coruña, where the game was scoreless. One goal would give Deportivo the Title, and they had a great chance in the very last minute, when the referee blew for a penalty in their favour. Djukic took the penalty, but missed it. Whilst sadness invaded Riazor, at the Camp Nou it was all euphoria and joy after 90 heart-stopping minutes.

With that La Liga title the ‘Dream Team’ became Champions for the fourth consecutive season.

Back to top