The 1999 title was the second in a row for Barça / PHOTO: FCB ARCHIVE

It’s 15 years today since FC Barcelona won the 1998-99 league championship at Mendizorrotza, home of Basque outfit Alavés. On May 22, 1999, Barça won 4-1 in Vitoria thanks to goals from Cocu, Kluivert, Figo and the man who has just taken over as first team manager, Luis Enrique. That was enough to clinch the second league title of the Louis Van Gaal era with three games yet to play

The Barça side that day was: Hesp, Reiziger, Abelardo, Frank de Boer, Sergi, Luis Enrique, Guardiola (Pellegrino, min 71), Cocu, Figo, Kluivert and Rivaldo. The Alavés consolation goal was scored by a former FC Barcelona man, Julio Salinas.

Back to top