Iniesta against Valencia in 2007/08. FOTO: Arxiu FCB

Barça are the Cup Kings in Spain and with 26 titles have won the trophy more than any other side. They’ve also shown great consistency over the last seven years, appearing in the semi-finals on six occasions, to become something of a fixture at this stage of the competition.

The only time that Barça have failed to reach the semis since 2007 was in 2010, when they went out in the last 16 to Manolo Jiménez’s Seville on the away goals rule.

In both 2007 and 2008, Barça lost the semifinals – to Getafe 5-2 at the Camp Nou and 4-0 at the Coliseum Alfonso Pérez and Valencia, 1-1 at home and 3-2 at Mestalla, but since then they’ve gone through to the final every time they’ve reached the semis.

In 2009, Barça beat Bilbao 4-1 in the final at Mestalla, whilst they beat the same side 3-0 in last season’s final at the Vicente Calderon. In 2011 however, Real Madrid beat them 1-0.

Back to top