Messi current holder of the World Soccer award. PHOTO FCB.

Three FC Barcelona players are among the ten candidates for the best player of the year award given out by World Soccer. Leo Messi, Xavi Hernández and Anrdés Iniesta will compete for the prize with Touré Yaya (Manchester City), Didier Drogba (Shangai Shenhua), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Neymar (Santos) y Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Cristiano Ronaldo (R.Madrid) and Radamel Falcao (At. Madrid).

Messi is the current holder of the World Soccer award, which he also won in 2009. Only the Brazilian Ronaldo, with three, has more editions of the prize. Ronaldinho also won back-to-back World Soccer awards in 2004 and 2005. The winner will be selected by the readers of the British magazine.

Back to top