Els cinc primers classificats

Leo Messi has won his fourth Ballon d’Or and it’s likely that this was not his last. And when Messi wins, Barça win too. From today, Barça are able to boast an all-time record of having won ten different editions of the awards. They are followed by AC Milan and Juventus, who have eight each. Messi’s reign in the football kingdom has also extended the Barça legend.

Suárez first

Galician Luis Suárez was the first FCB winner of the Ballon d’Or in 1960. The next was Johan Cruyff on two occasions (1973 and 1974) and in 1994 it was Hristo Stoichkov who added another. Five years later, in 1999, Rivaldo made it five and in 2005 Ronaldinho was yet another Barcelona player to be named the best in the world.

Messi sets record

Messi scored his first goals for Barça in 2004 against Albacete, and things have just got better and better ever since. First under Frank Rijkaard and then under Pep Guardiola, Leo Messi developed into one of the most extraordinary footballers to have ever graced the game, and was recognised with his first Ballon d’Or in 2009. He has gone on to win four in a row, something no man has ever achieved before, and at the same time has made Barça the club with the all time record for producing winners of the award.


Back to top