Xavi in the final against Italy / PHOTO: CARMELO RUBIO

After the Euro 2012, five Barça players added their names to the list of Azulgranas that have won a European Championship. The players are Gerard Piqué, Pedro Rodríguez, Sergio Busquets, Cesc Fàbregas - he was an Arsenal player in 2008 when he won his first Euro - and the keeper Víctor Valdés.

The first Barça players to ever win the Euro with the Spanish national team were Olivella, Fusté, Pereda and Sadurní, in 1964. 44 years later, in the Austria and Switzerland Euro in 2008, Xavi, Iniesta and Puyol were the next Barça players to claim a Euro. Of the 12 Barça players to win the continental title, only two did it without playing a single minute: the keepers Sadurní and Valdés. Curiously enough, the only Barça players to with a Euro did it with Spain.

Barça supplies two MVPs

Three Barça players can boast two Euro winners medals. Cesc Fàbregas, Xavi Hernández, who was named MVP of the 2008 Euro, and Andrés Iniesta, named MVP of this summer’s tournament.

Back to top