Debut d’Alex Song al Bernabéu / FOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

The Barça player is on a shortlist of 34 players nominated by the Confederation of African Football for this award. Last year it was won by the former Barça midfielder Touré Yaya. The list of candidates will be reduced at the end of October and the winner will be announced at a ceremony on 20th December in Ghana.

Apart from the current holder, Touré Yaya, there is another well known face for Barça fans, Seydou Keyta. The complete list of candidates is as follows:

Abdelaziz Barrada (Getafe), Adel Taarabt (Queens Park Rangers), Alain Sibiri Traore (Lorient), Alexander Song (FC Barcelona), Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew (Marseille), Arouna Kone (Wigan), Aymen Abdennour (Tolosa) Bakaye Traore (AC Milan), Ckeik Tiote (Newcastle United), Christopher Katongo (Henan Construction), Demba Ba (Newcastle United), Didier Drogba (Shanghai Shenhua), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese), Emmanuel Mayuka (Southampton), Foxi Kethevoama (FC Astana), Gervinho (Arsenal), Hilaire Momi (Le Mans), John Obi Mikel (Chelsea), John Utaka (Montpellier), Kwadwo Asamoah (Juventus), Moussa Sow (Fenerbahçe), Nicolas N’koulou (Marseille), Papiss Demba Cisse (Newcastle United), Pape Moussa Konate (FC Krasnodar), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (St Etienne), Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe), Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow), Seydou Keita (Dalian Aerbin), Sofiane Feghouli (Valencia), Stoppila Sunzu (TP Mazembe), Victor Moses (Chelsea), Touré Yaya (Manchester City), Younes Belhanda (Montpeller), Youssef Msakni (Esperance) (Tunisia).

Back to top