Pedro, Messi i Mascherano. FOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ-FCB.

Barça’s 0-3 victory over Athletic Club means that the Azulgranas have now won a total of 26 Copa del Rey titles. With this new trophy, FC Barcelona reaffirms its position as the team with the most Cup titles in Europe ahead of the 24 titles won by Benfica. On May 13, 2009, the Azulgranas broke the deadlock with the Portuguese side in terms of Cup titles earned after beating Athletic Club in the Copa del Rey Final at Mestalla.

Ranking of the teams with the most titles

While Barça have claimed the Spanish Cup title this season, Benfica lost in the Round of 16 of the Taça de Portugal to Marítimo. Therefore, FC Barcelona increases its lead over the Águias [Eagles] as the team with the most Cup titles. Benfica are the team with the second most Cup titles (24) followed by the Dutch side Ajax (18), who lost in to AZ in the Round of 16 of the KNVB Cup. In fourth position sits Bayern Munich (15), who lost in the Final of the DFB Pokal to Borussia Dortmund. After Bayern, Manchester United follows with 11 FC Cup titles, Olympique Marseille with 10 Coupe de France titles, and Juventus and Roma, both with 9 Coppa Italia titles.

The FA Cup, the longest-lasting tournament

The English FA Cup, which started in 1827, is the oldest football tournament in the world. The first edition of the Cup was won by Wanderers, a team made up of former students from London’s private schools. Of the first seven FA Cup tournaments, the Wanderers won five titles. The reigning champions of the FA Cup are Chelsea FC, however Manchester United are the English side with the most FA Cup titles with 11, closely followed by Arsenal with 10.

The Copa del Rey, which started in 1902, is the oldest Spanish football tournament. The first team to with the Copa was Athletic Club, the Basque side are also the team with the second-most Copa titles in Spain (23). FC Barcelona, however, are first with 26 titles - the most out of any European team.

Back to top